Prof. Martin R. Zirnbauer
Career & Distinctions
1958 Born in the rural Bavarian town of Moosburg (Germany) on April 25
1968-76 High-school education in the Bavarian alpine town of Bad Tölz (Germany)
1976 Ranked among the top-ten high-school graduates of the federal state of Bavaria
1976-79 Supported by a gifted-student scholarship from the Bavarian government (Bayerische Begabtenförderung)
1976-82 Scholar of the German National Scholarship Foundation (Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes)
1976-79 Physics studies at the Technical University of Munich, Pre-Diplom (1978)
1979-82 Graduate studies at the University of Oxford; member of Balliol College
1980 M.Sc. in theoretical physics
1982 D.Phil. in theoretical physics (“Microscopic approach to the interacting boson model”, supervised by D.M. Brink)
1982-84 Research Associate at the Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics in Heidelberg (with H.A. Weidenmüller)
1984-87 Research Associate at the California Institute of Technology (Pasadena, USA), Weingart Prize Fellowship
1987-1995 Associate Professor (C3) for Theoretical Physics, University of Cologne
1988 Assistant Professor (tenure track), California Institute of Technology (declined)
1996- Full Professor (C4) for Theoretical Physics, University of Cologne
2003-06 Founding Director (Gründungssprecher) of the Transregional Collaborative Research Center “Symmetries and Universality in Mesoscopic Systems” (SFB/TR 12, Cologne-Bochum-Essen-Warsaw)
2004-14 Associate Editor of Nuclear Physics B: Field Theory and Statistical Mechanics
2004-14 Member of the Scientific Committee of the Max-Planck-Institute for Mathematics, Bonn
2005-11 Member of the committee previewing faculty appointments at the University of Cologne (Beirat für Berufungsangelegenheiten)
2007-12 Deputy Chair of the Bonn-Cologne Graduate School of Physics and Astronomy
2007-08 Dean of Physics (Vorsitzender der Fachgruppe)
2007- Elected Member of the German National Science Academy “Leopoldina”
2008- Member of St.-John´s College, Cambridge (UK)
2009 Recipient of the Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz Prize of the German Science Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft)
2010-14 Member of the MFO Scientific Committee (Mathematisches Forschungsinstitut Oberwolfach)
2012 Recipient of the Max Planck Medal (Highest Prize in Theoretical Physics awarded by the German Physical Society)
  (Max Planck medalists)
2012-14 Chair of the Bonn-Cologne Graduate School of Physics and Astronomy
2016-2021 Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Erwin-Schrödinger International Institute for Mathematics and Physics, Vienna
2018-2022 Chair of the Max-Planck Medal Committee